Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Site-wide Search
Pedagogy Award

The submission period will begin June 30, 2017 and end August 1, 2017, 5:00PM CST.
Links and forms for submissions will be available on the SCMS website during this time.

SCMS confers an annual Pedagogy Award for outstanding pedagogical achievement in Cinema and Media Studies.  The Pedagogy Award Committee adjudicates nominations according to criteria of pedagogical achievement in some or all of the following areas: Instruction; Publication and Development of Educational Materials; Service/Value in Cinema and Media Studies Pedagogy. SCMS will present a trophy and a check for $500 to the winner at the annual conference.  

For award criteria, click here, and then access the nomination form.

Nomination Procedures:

  • Nominees must be full members of the Society for the 2017-2018 membership year.  

  • The SCMS office will verify the eligibility of the entry and verify membership before distributing copies to the committee members. Nominators complete the online nomination form by August 1, 2017, 5:00PM CST.    

  • The SCMS office notifies nominees by August 15, 2017.

  • Nominees must accept or decline the nomination by September 5, 2017.

  • If the nomination is accepted, the nominator and nominee are responsible for compiling and sending an electronic copy of the dossier to the SCMS Office at by November 4, 2017, (5:00PM CST) with the subject line PEDAGOGY DOSSIER.

 For dossier guidelines, click here.

Past winners of the Society for Cinema and Media Studies Pedagogy Award

2007     Chuck Kleinhans
2008     Diane Carson
2009     Barry Grant
2010     No Award Given
2011     Charles Wolfe
2012     Marsha Cassidy
2013     Constance Balides
2014     Timothy Corrigan
2015     Matthew Bernstein
2016     Eylem Atakav

2017     Ellen Seiter

Sign In
Sign In securely
Latest News

Society for Cinema and Media Studies | 640 Parrington Oval | Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300 | Norman, OK 73019 | 405-325-8075 |